Eight Limbs of Yoga (Astanga)

The Eight Branches of Classical Raja Yoga  

1.  Yamas:  The Guidelines for Conscious Living, the Moral Codes, the Ethical Principles,
                  The Five Principles of Behavior Towards Others and Oneself


2.  Niyamas:  The Guidelines for Personal Living, Five Rules for a Healthy Mind-Body


3.  Asanas:  Postures, Exercises, Sequence of Physical Exercises


4.  Pranayama:  Breathing Exercises


5.  Pratyahara:  Control of the Senses, Self-Observation, Looking Within


6.  Dharana:  Concentration, Mindfulness


7.  Dhyana:  Meditation


8.  Samadhi:  Self-Realization, Enlightement, Bliss, Joyfulness




These guidelines for conscious living are taken from the “Yoga Sutra” compiled by
the wise Indian scholar Pantanjali over 1,900 years ago.    



More information about Classical Raja Yoga can be found at Mike Garofalo’s 
Valley Spirit Hatha Yoga website at:  www.egreenway.com.  















Michael P. Garofalo's E-mail


Valley Spirit Hatha Yoga
Yoga Research and Education

Red Bluff, Tehama County, North Sacramento Valley, Northern California, U.S.A.
Cities in the area: Oroville, Paradise, Durham, Chico, Hamilton City, Orland, Corning,
Rancho Tehama, Los Molinos, Tehama, Gerber, Manton, Cottonwood, 
Anderson, Shasta Lake, Palo Cedro, and Redding, CA


© 2006, Green Way Research, Red Bluff, California
Michael P. Garofalo, All Rights Reserved



The Spirit of Gardening

Cloud Hands: Taijiquan and Qigong

Zen Poetry

Cuttings: Haiku and Short Poems

Subject Index to the Cloud Hands Website

Cold Mountain Sages

Eight Section Brocade Qigong

Green Way Research


Fitness and Well Being